New Baby Coming! Pt. 2: The Baby Care Class

Sleeping Baby Portrait #DarlaDixon

In the last post I shared with you our fun tradition of our ten week “Countdown Chart.” Today I would like to write about our “Baby Care Class”. Sometime in the last few weeks of pregnancy I hold a class with all my children where we go over basic care of a newborn baby. This has been such a great time of bonding and sharing together, as well as heightening the excitement of the time drawing close.  Of course, the little siblings will not all being doing all these things for the baby, but it is a wonderful teaching tool for them all and a memorable tradition! And the older ones get to be pros eventually!

In our class last week we talked about:

-How to pick up, hold the baby, and lay him down (closely supporting his little neck)
-Bathing the baby in the little tub
-Diapering the baby
-Dressing the baby in a gown and hat
-Swaddling the baby in a receiving blanket
-Laying the baby down to sleep

Here are several pictures of our class:











In the next post I plan on sharing some things that I do personally to prepare for the upcoming labor and delivery.

If you missed the first post on this series, be sure to check out The Countdown Chart.

Subscribe to A Mother’s Heritage


7 responses to “New Baby Coming! Pt. 2: The Baby Care Class

  1. Jenny.. looks like you have a lot of eager little helpers! What a wonderful way to encourage them in welcoming your new addition. Your daughter is looking so lovingly at the doll.. she’s going to want to ‘spoil’ her little brother or sister! My children were 15, 13 and 10 when my youngest was born and its like she has four mothers! Especially the middle daughter.. she used to play her guitar to my belly and she was the first in the family to touch the baby. (I had c-sections and she actually kissed her while she was still in the incubator) Your family is so lovely.. 3 girls and a boy..hmm… does that mean you’re wishing for another boy? Just kidding.. I have four girls myself and I know I wouldn’t trade them for anything.. all I wanted was for them to be healthy! Thanks for sharing with us.

    Love & Blessings!

  2. Very good idea. Thanks for sharing this tip over at WFMW. I appreciate it.

  3. Hi,
    Thank you so much for this wonderful idea. We are 6 weeks out for the birth of Judah….#5. I only have 3 at home….19, 8, 4. My 8 and 4 year olds would love to have some training like this and you have inspired me to get the dolls out and do a little class. We may do this one day a week for the next 6 weeks, to really get some practice in. They are REALLY excited to have a little brother and love to be my little helpers!
    Thank you! I will be praying for a quick and easy birth for you and health for all.
    Dawn Gray

    • Dawn, have fun with your children in doing this, I hope it is a memory making time! LaVonne, thanks for your encouragement! Lisa Marie, I actually have 3 girls and 3 boys…not all of them were in the pictures. And yes, this little one is our 4th boy. We are so excited! They are all ready to help and it is such a blessing to see their enthusiasm.

  4. This is such a sweet post! I never thought to do this, but perhaps if the Lord blesses us again… I shared this post on my Treasures from a Shoebox Facebook page. Thanks for posting!

  5. This is such a great series! My friend passed your site on to me, especially with this series in mind because I am 3 weeks away from my due date. I have an 8-year-old boy and 9-year-old girl and am expecting a boy this time again. My children are so, so excited about the baby coming and since they have never had a baby to dress and change, this class would be a great idea to prep them. Thank you so much for posting this!

Leave a Reply

