Don’t come down from that wall! Pt. 4

And I sent messengers unto them, saying, I am doing a great work, so that I cannot come down: why should the work cease, whilst I leave it, and come down to you?” Nehemiah 6:3

We have been talking about the temptations the enemy of our soul tempts us with.  This passage in Nehemiah has much to teach us.  Today, I want to address one that I struggle with greatly…

My own expectations.

Notice, I did not say my husband’s expectations.  I did not say my biblical duties.  No, we are talking about Jenny’s expectations of herself.  You see, sometimes I am my own slavemaster.

I could always have done a better job as a mom today. I could have done even more in school than we did.  I could have made that lesson even more exciting to the children.  I could have smiled more at my little ones.  I could have kept the house up better.  I could have this…I could have that.

But, who is placing all these expectations on me?  Is my husband happy with the way I have kept the home today?  Have I taken steps, even baby steps, in following what God has called me to today?  We get beaten down when we constantly don’t measure up to the expectations of our own making.

I measure my success often on how clean my house looks at the end of the day.  If it is tidy and neat..it’s been a good day.  Never mind how much time I really spent with my children…how much time I got to know them better and instill truth and make memories with them.  But, what about the days we have had great group discussion and been really learning?  What about those times we have played today all together and really lived?  What about those times when the house is a mess, cause we are enjoying each other?  Am I a success then?

So whose expectations are you living under?  

The government school system?  The neighbor next door?  The mom’s in your school co-op? Your own?

I would challenge you to look to your husband and really listen to what his desires are for the daily outworking of your day and seek to follow that.  You might be surprised at how simple and freeing it is.  We think we must be supermoms, but what is God really requiring of us?

And let’s not come down from the wall when your daily plan is frustrated by the happenings of life.  Embrace the day for what God has in store!  I will close with another great quote from Spurgeon…

“It was a pretty remark I read, the other day, of a Christian man who said,’I used to have many disappointments,until I changed one letter of the word,and chopped it into two so that instead of disappointments, I read it,his appointments. That was a wonderful change. For disappointments break your heart, but his appointments you accept right cheerily.'”


Did you miss the beginning of this series?
Pt 1. Thoughts from Nehemiah
Pt 2 Discouragement and Past Failures
Pt 3 Boredom with the mundane

Subscribe to A Mother’s Heritage

Titus2sday Linkup
Domestically Divine Homemaking Linkup
Women Living Well Wednesday Linkup
Raising Homemakers Homemaking Linkup

6 responses to “Don’t come down from that wall! Pt. 4

  1. It is so true that we are our own worse enemies. My children are grown and I still have to stop myself from going down that what if road. Blessings, Debbie

  2. This is a great reminder, we often have great expectations, and we also fail or feel like failure when not meet. But we need to return to the basic sometime, God standard should be our standard 🙂

  3. Very interesting post!! SO true! I’m blog hopping and found yours. I’m now following! Would love for you to check out my blog and follow back!
    Bonni from http://www.mombyexample.com

Leave a Reply

